Various short updates

November 14, 2012

A shame I have not posted more.

Great shame.

I have a few tidbits, none of which are worthy of a post individually.

First, RPGWatch is my new best friend!  They have agreed to post regular news articles on my current project.  Check out the first one here:

http://www.rpgwatch.com/show/article?articleid=198&ref=0&id=511

Second, I spent considerable time this year editing a book on API design.  It is now finished and can be purchased here:

http://www.amazon.com/20-API-Paradoxes-ebook/dp/B009NNXPES/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1352911078&sr=8-1

Last, an observation about my development practices and how I spend my time.  Actually, I COULD make a full post out of this one, but until such time as I believe I have a large number of readers, I am probably too lazy.  At any rate, here is the observation:

NEVER EVER EVER copy and paste code.  I spend hours tracking down bugs that boil down to this root cause.  Besides being bug-prone, it indicates design flaws when one is copy/pasting.  Lesson learned?  Sigh.  Probably not.

2 Responses to “Various short updates”

  1. ben Says:

    cut and paste is NOT code reuse :)

  2. mtnlurker Says:

    Congrats on the editorship and credits.

    So many issues come back to cut and paste. A wonderful development but must be used with care.

    Sorry, but work blocks rpgwatch. I will check it out, later.


Leave a Reply

