On the application of “learned lessons”

June 21, 2012

Over the course of many past failed projects, I’ve learned some lessons.  Without boring people with a list (ok, actually I’m too lazy) I’ll say that one of these lessons has recently become relevant.

That is, when you’re looking at a nice new set of functionality you’ve coded, or even a complete working system, and you say to yourself, “Well now, that’s cool.  I can see, though, that if I ever want it to do XYZ that it won’t work.  Also, it’s so complex that even I don’t understand how it all works without studying the code.”

Such is the case today, as I look at the new combat system in Forge of Legends.  The combat attacks for player characters and monsters is now basically done.  There is a lot to add on to it and flesh out, but the most basic kind of combat can now be carried out.  But, I coded it all for PCs and monsters with only one attack each, and with only one damage type each.  So, if I later wanted a PC to take two swings with a flaming sword that does slashing and fire damage, it can’t be done.

So I’ve got to refactor it.  For monsters too. 

I could ignore this, keep my “working system” working and move on.  But I’ve learned the hard way that this leads to ruin.

Back to work!

 

One Response to “On the application of “learned lessons””


  1. Bravo to you for not being lazy. Well, you’re lazy in your blogging, but at least not your code. Your employer would be proud :P


Leave a Reply

